Skip all navigation Skip to page navigation

DHHS Home | Assistance | Divisions | About DHHS | DHHS Contacts

NC Department of Health and Human Services
NC Division of Public Health
N.C. Public Health Home

2012 Ronald H. Levine Legacy Award

Bill Pully receives the 2012 Ron Levine Legacy Award
NCHA President Bill Pully receives the Ron Levine Legacy Award
from its namesake, Dr. Ron Levine, and outgoing North Carolina
State Health Director Dr. Jeffrey Engel at the 2012 State Health
Director’s Conference..

William Pully, president of the North Carolina Hospital Association, was honored as the 2012 recipient of the Ronald Levine Legacy Award in recognition of his contributions to public health in North Carolina. The award was presented at the conclusion of the annual 2012 State Health Director’s Conference on January 27, 2012. 

In presenting the award, outgoing State Health Director Dr. Jeffrey Engel acknowledged Pully’s leadership in the development of the North Carolina Disease Event Tracking and Epidemiologic Collection Tool (NC DETECT), a statewide syndromic surveillance system that gathers data from hospital emergency departments and other providers to monitor a variety public health issues in a secure and timely fashion, and the North Carolina Health Information Exchange, a public/private collaboration to provide a secure, sustainable technology infrastructure that supports the real time exchange of health information.  

Engel also highlighted Pully’s involvement in the Public Health and Hospital Collaborative, a public-private partnership between the Division of Public Health, NCHA, the NC Institute for Public Health and the NC Center for Public Health Quality that has developed standards for community health assessments as required for nonprofit hospitals by the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and the Public Health Exchange.

Pully, a Rocky Mount native, began his career with NCHA as director of government relations.  He became president of the association in 1999.

Named for former North Carolina State Health Director Dr. Ron Levine, the annual award honors individuals whose work and commitment on behalf of the public’s health has resulted in significant, sustainable and positive improvements to health and quality of life in North Carolina.








Updated: January 28, 2019